According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, in 2006 there were 126 fatal car crashes involving teens in the state of Virginia. As much as you’d like to lock up your teenagers in their bedrooms to keep them safe and throw away the keys until they’re in their 20’s, the fact of the matter is, they need to learn how to drive sometime!
It’s important to be aware of teen driving laws in the state of Virginia before handing the keys over to your teen. Here are a few safety tips and rules to keep in mind:
Assess Comfort Level
Be aware that not all teens are completely ready to drive at 16. Everyone is unique with different learning curves. Some teens are very quick learners who can handle the pressure of driving, while other teens will need more practice. You as a parent can usually decipher your teen’s skill and comfort level. Don’t allow your teen to drive alone if he/she is still not completely comfortable behind the wheel.
Driving School is Cool
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has a policy that requires teen drivers to go through 50 hours of driver education and 45 hours of adult-supervised driving. If you don’t have much patience and can’t keep a level head while teaching your teen how to drive, it might be best to enroll him/her in a quality driving school. They’ll learn from a professional teacher who is updated on current driving laws.
No Cell Phone or Text Messaging
Remind teens, especially if they are 16 or 17-years-old, that cell phone use or text messaging is against the law in the state of Virginia. This law applies to both handheld and hands-free phones.
No Driving After Midnight
Virginia has a driving curfew for teens under the age of 18 which restricts driving between the hours of midnight and 4 a.m. Drivers younger than 18 can only drive if accompanied by a parent, if there is an emergency, or if they work as rescue personnel.
Keep in mind that car accidents involving teenagers are more common at night, especially if they have other teens in the car with them. You can improve their safety by reminding them that according to Virginia law, they can only carry one passenger under 18 with them during their first year of driving. After they have had their license for one year, they can carry up to three passengers under the age of 18.
Keep the lines of communication open with your teen and check in with them every so often to get a feel of their driving behaviors and habits. Also, be aware of your own driving habits because teens tend to emulate their parent’s behaviors. The better role model you are, the better drivers they will be!
What Secrets Don’t Insurance Companies Want You to Know?
Want to know what hidden secrets insurance companies are keeping from you about your insurance claim? Before you settle for less than you deserve, download a copy of my free book that explains their most common tricks.Download Now »
“ I was very thankful for the personal attention that was given to me by all of your staff. When you go through something like I did in the fire, people’s attitudes can make a difference! Thanks for everything! ”
— Patricia Hedrick
“ I feel that my case was handled in a very quick but professional manner. I was very pleased and would recommend your firm to anyone in need. ”
— Robin Truitt
“ My case was handled in a very professional manner, it did not have any of the more common aggravations. ”
— Thomas Queen Jr.
“ I like you as my lawyer because you are always there when I need you. ”
— Iman Saleem
“ I’m proud to say that the lawyer I had was very professional and took his job very personally. I will highly recommend him to any person. Very honest man, tells you the truth, not what you many want to hear. Prayers are with the company. ”
— Nadine Green